You are here

Back to top

The Penguin Book of Scottish Verse (Paperback)

The Penguin Book of Scottish Verse Cover Image
By Robert Crawford (Editor), Mick Imlah (Introduction by), Mick Imlah (Editor), Robert Crawford (Introduction by)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


The first anthology ever to offer a view of the entirety of Scottish history

Extending from the 6th century to the end of the 20th, and representing each of its stylistic currents with clarity and verve, The Penguin Book of Scottish Verse is an unprecedented collection. Acknowledged masters such as Robert Burns and Don Paterson are well represented, their work augmented by that of neglected and unknown writers. Throughout the volume, poetry in Gaelic, Latin and other languages is given in parallel text; poems in Scots are fully glossed. With its comprehensive, lively Introduction, this unique anthology—mingling Highland and Lowland, the religious and the profane, poems by kings and crofters—is the definitive guide to the whole poetry of Scotland.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

Robert Crawford is a professor of Modern Scottish Literature at the University of St Andrews. He is the author of Scotland's Books: The Penguin History of Scottish Literature.

Mick Imlah was born in Aberdeen in 1956. His collections of poetry include Birthmarks (1988), and a selection of his work appears in Penguin Modern Poets 3 (1995). He is poetry editor at The Times Literary Supplement.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780140424669
ISBN-10: 0140424660
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Publication Date: December 18th, 2007
Pages: 592
Language: English
Series: Penguin Classics